It all started with a study trip, and a concurrence of circumstances.

In 2013 Leanne Jansen looked back in Wau (the magazine of Laverna, the study association in Amsterdam) on the origins of Sophia Aeterna:

‘It all started with a study trip and a concurrence of circumstances. The year before, Rosanne Boermans and I had planned to organise a study trip, but we soon learned that that was almost unattainable without a study association. Tuchè fated that Tes Mijnders, Guus van Loon en Bas Clercx had forged plans to found a study association, however they never went through with it. Joining our forces was probably one of the best decisions ever made in our programme I say proudly!'

On the 12th of March 2012 our new study association was born. The name was chosen though a Facebook poll and not too long after that the logo came to be. The association was first responsible for pre-existing activities like the end-of-the-year barbecue, the Christmas drinks, the open mic and the theater performances. New activities soon followed: A trip to Trier, the reason of existence, as a first highlight in the summer of 2012.

The first sketches of the logo by Rosanne Boermans

By now, Sophia Aeterna consists of almost fifteen committees and has an activity planned almost every week.


Sophia's board still functions as the backbone of the study program. The current board introduces themselves here.

Bestuur XI: 2022-2023

Praeses: Maaike van den Berg
Ab-actis: Maud van Es
Quaestor: Myrthe van Drunen
Assessor: Sienna van der Poel

Board X: 2021-2022

Praeses: Thirza Vis
Ab-actis: Lisanne Ledegang
Quaestor: Heleen Deen
Assessor: Mick Lammers

Board IX: 2020-2021

Praeses: Iris de Smalen
Ab-actis: Leoniek Koster
Quaestor: Jildou de Regt
Assessor: Lucas Faessen

Board VIII: 2019-2020

Praeses: Manon Junggeburt
Ab-actis: Evelien Nijveld
Quaestor: Wiebe Snoeij
Assessor: Corine van den Bergh

Board VII: 2018-2019

Praeses: Esther Faasen
Ab-actis: Eileen van den Akerboom
Quaestor: Wilanne van Goch
Assessor: Louise van der Vlugt

Board VI: 2017-2018

Praeses: Jikke Koning
Ab-actis: Esther Faasen
Quaestor: Susanne Belonje
Assessor: Benjamin Plomp

Board V: 2016-2017

Praeses: Tunske de Vries
Ab-actis: Leonie Verberne
Quaestor: Olivia Monster
Assessor: Inge Booister

Board IV: 2015-2016

Praeses: Bob van Velthoven
Ab-actis: Marloes Velthuisen
Quaestor: Floor Sombroek
Assessor: Maike van Haeringen

Board III: 2014-2015

Praeses: Anouk Wallien
Ab-actis: Erik-Jan Dros
Quaestor: Bob van Velthoven
Assessor: Jeroen van Asten

Board II: 2013-2014

Praeses: Leonie Henkes
Ab-actis: Fleur Wetsema
Quaestor: Erik-Jan Dros
Assessor: Eveline van Rijn

Board I: 2012-2013

Praeses: Bas Clercx
Ab-actis: Leanne Jansen
Quaestor: Guus van Loon
Assessor intern: Tes Mijnders
Assessor extern: Rosanne Boermans